Should I cut out mowing service completly?

teamgreendude

LawnSite Senior Member
Good morning guys,
I've been mowing for the past 12 years including Mowing, Fertility & Weed control, Tree & Shrub pruning as well as snow & Ice Management. Right now I'm currently in school to obtain my horticulture degree and gain more expertise in the areas of irrigation, Arboriculture and Fertility for trees & Shrubs. My question is Should i limit what i do to Fertility & Weed control(disease & Pest management), Tree care(pruning, removal, Plant health care), irrigation(install, service, repair), landscaping and snow Management. Sure mowing is great and i do enjoy it but there's another company here in Kansas that Basically does everything i listed(with the exception of landscaping and snow management). I've talked with the owner(Larry Ryan) and it seems that it's a better business, especially because I don't think a college graduate with a degree in horticulture will want to run a mow crew. Sorry for the long novel i just want some feedback on what you guys think?
Thanks,
James

Durabird02

LawnSite Member
I personally would not cut out mowing all together. It is a good, steady income when other things get slow. If you dont want to mow, you can always have a crew that does the mowing so you can focus more on the landscape side of the business. If you are successful with your mowing business, i would not get rid of it all together.

OP
T

teamgreendude

LawnSite Senior Member