1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation about fertilization strategies for success with the experts at Koch Turf & Ornamental in the Fertilizer Application forum.

Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Skid unit or PTO off truck

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by Fireman lawn care LLC, Nov 20, 2017.

1. Fireman lawn care LLC

Fireman lawn care LLC LawnSite Member

Hello, I'm Robert, I'm new to this as I am wanting to get started with my business at the first of the year. My question is a bought a 1ton and it has a standard transmission that I can install a 6bolt PTO on it and run a pump off that, instead of a pony pump. is this something that is worth even trying to do or just buy a skid and be done with it.

2. sprayboy

sprayboy LawnSite Senior Member
    from Indiana

Buy a skid.
    No use in the truck running all the time while spraying.

RDALawns likes this.
  3. Fireman lawn care LLC

Ok, that makes sense. Thanks

4. And, you'll get to about 25MPH ONCE when you forget to turn it off.

5. RigglePLC

RigglePLC LawnSite Fanatic

How much power do you need? If you are planning to spray tall trees--power take-off is the way to go. More power and more gallons per minute are available, provided you have a big, expensive pump. Do you need 300 pounds pressure? 25 gals per minute? Do you plan to spray expressway medians?

6. Fireman lawn care LLC

I don't need that much power, just going to spray lawns. Maybe a few businesses nothing to big really. I think I'm just going to buy the skid unit and be done. What skid unit would be a great one to buy for getting started?

7. RDALawns

RDALawns LawnSite Bronze Member
    Male, from Texas