• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Slice Seeding Vs Aeration and Broadcasting Seed

Cross Creek Lawn Care

LawnSite Senior Member
I am asking this question on behalf of my (my parents) lawn, however I am a professional and I will be doing. Moderators feel free to change to homeowner assistance if necessary.

On to the question, I am wanting to redo our lawn of weeds. If I am wanting to plant grass to give us a real lawn next year what method of seeding would be more effective, A power slice seeder or Plug aeration followed by broadcast spreading seed?

I also have some other questions. If I am wanting a durable low maintenance grass that won’t require constant watering. I want to be able to stripe it too. What type of grass do you recommend?

What other products will I need to keep the grass somewhat weed free an healthy. My mom is not a fan of chemicals and herbicides and would like to keep it as natural as possible.

Let me know what y’all thoughts are on this. We are in middle TN.

sjessen

LawnSite Fanatic
You may be in a bit of a Catch 22 based on the desires listed. If the lawn is mostly weeds it is best to kill it off and start over. If you want fescue it is almost imperative to use chemicals. Fescue needs a good bit of fertilizer, gets diseases and usually requires chemicals for weed control at least for the first year or two until well established.

As an alternative, consider zoysia plugs sometime next summer. Zoysia has its own set of issues but once fully established needs less chemicals, less watering and usually less mowing.

Good luck.

grass4gas

LawnSite Bronze Member