Snow Plowing

Status
Not open for further replies.

FLD350

LawnSite Member
I have a few questions about snowplowing. I have been using an Ariens snowblower for the past 4 or 5 years, but after last winter I decided that having a plow was pretty crucial especially if I want to take on more Winter customers.

My question is being that I have never really plowed before, are there any tips on how to properly and efficeintly plow driveways?

My uncle who used to plow for his town has told me that it is important to get some momentum before actually dropping the blade to help save the tranny on the truck, anyone agree or disagree with this.

(F350 w/ Fisher plow.)

Turf Management

LawnSite Member
I think that it is something you kind of have to teach yourself. It's hard to tell you how to properly plow.. I suppose it's like riding a bike.

I personally don't get momentum going prior to plowing a path. My average snowfalls are only 3-9 inches though. Additionally, I'm operating an 04 F-250 Diesel with a 7.5" Western plow.

My advice is to be aware of your surroundings. I've been lucky in not having any accidents however there have been a couple close calls. When doing commercial properties, cars come whipping behind you and when your truck is caked with snow and sits so high you can't see a car beside you, things can get tricky. I plow with my windows down.

Also, watch out for man hole covers. I plow for a gas station and have been warned about their gas man hole covers. They aren't cheap and plows are notorious for damaging these. I skip plowing this area completely and hit it with the snowblower.

That brings me to another point. I'm not sure how much you like your snowblower but if you ever get another one, check out the single stage Toro's. Those machines are worth their weight in gold.