Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For those who haven't read my intro, I'm very new to landscaping and we have been growing at a decent pace. I just got a call yesterday to spread gravel. I know I should give more detail, but I don't have much else to go off of. I am set up to meet a customer tomorrow to see exactly what she needs.

I just went and took a little tour of the gravel supplier store in town to get a feel for what kind of material is out there and sizes and all that. Does anyone have any ideas on what else I should start educating myself in or any good reads on landscape rocks before I go in? I'll be back with more details, but am going to go in tomorrow and take pics and measure then do another half day of research before I give a price.

Right now I ...
Have an idea of differant uses of sizes (clean vs minus) and it's uses
When to use fabric
Differant examples of tonnage and coverage

·
Registered
2,527 Posts
Develop pricing by the yard. It is sold by the ton or yard depending if the supplier has a scale insite. 1 yard usually equals 1.5 tons but that will change. Figure yards per hour that you can do. Shoveling gravel off the ground nets around 1 yard per hour. Shoveling off the ground suxs and someone with a dump truck/trailer will be able to do it quicker. There are lots of calculators online that convert square footage to yards but for most landscape rock I use 1 yard covers 100 sq ft at 2.5 inches deep. 8 wheelbarrows is about a yard of material. Good Luck

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Also, I did about a half hour of researching and could only find 2 times people mentioned how long it took to spread 1 ton of gravel by hand and a wheelbarrow. I have 2.1 hours per ton and 1 hour per ton. Can anyone else chime in on how long it might take with a trailer full of gravel fairly close by?

·
Registered
2013 GMC Sierra 1500 WT 4.3L V6
179 Posts
I can tell you the following...