Sub Contracting Commercial Lawn Maintenance

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by FreshCutsLAWN, Feb 23, 2018.

1. FreshCutsLAWN

FreshCutsLAWN LawnSite Member

This is my first time posting here and fairly new to lawn site forums but not new to the lawn care business. I have been during lawn care going into my 4th year as full time and have been around it for quite longer than that. But im new to sub contracting commercial lawn maintenance. My question is what do you guys estimate when bidding commercial sub contract work, by the man hour or by acreage. i have the opportunity to bid on right at 10 big properties that need servicing weekly and just trying to make sure im doing it right. Thanks for your feedback and God Bless!

2. jc1

jc1 LawnSite Silver Member

Truthfully bidding by the acre or hourly are pretty much the same thing. You start by using data you already know since you say you have been doing this for awhile. You know you need to make X per hour to cover expenses and make a profit. You know it takes Y time to cut a certain amount of turf. Therefore you know it takes you 2 hours to cut 10 acres. Or you can cut 10 acres in 2 hours. So you can charge $50 per hour for 2 hours =$100 or you can charge $10 per acre 10 acres =$100. either way you will work 2 hours and make $100.
    These numbers are just for discussion and not bidding with.

3. ArTurf

ArTurf LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Ark

To me while I consider the total area it is not near as important as how much time and effort I'll spend at the location. For instance; a location might be total 1 hour but is it 30 min. trimming vs. 10 min. Another location might be twice the area but may be wide open mowing and actually take less time and effort than a location half the area.

To sum it up time and how hard I have to work matters to me most.

4. TPendagast

TPendagast LawnSite Fanatic
    Male

What do you mean sub contracting?

Are you the sub?