Take job offer or go all in on lawn care

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by GreenMan3000, Jan 25, 2019.

?

Take the job or expand the business?

1. Take The Job

5 vote(s)
    18.5%
  2. Expand the business

22 vote(s)
    81.5%
  1. GreenMan3000

GreenMan3000 LawnSite Member

I have been operating my lawn care business for a few years now. I have a steady client base and all my equipment is in good condition and paid for. I have a lot of experience with lawn maintenance, landscaping and pressure/soft washing.I currently net about 30,000 in a season with only offering landscape maintenance and lawn maintenance. I love the work and can't think of anything i'd rather do. I plan to expand a soft wash/pressure wash side of the business to increase revenue this season. I am a single father with one dependent and my health insurance costs should be around $350 per month according to healthcare.gov. I have recently been offered a job in a battery manufacturing facility with starting pay of 15.50 per hour and increases to 21.60 after 90 days, with health insurance provided by company. I would be working third shift 40-50 hours per week. Due to the materials in the facility,I would be exposed to lead and arsenic on a daily basis and would have to get blood drawn and tested on a monthly basis to assess the levels in my body. I am having trouble deciding which is the best path for me to take. My heart tells me to stay in business but my mind tells me to take the safe, secure path. My only thoughts are the health risks with the job and the fact I could be fired and lose this position any day. I love the freedom of working by myself and honestly don't fare well in large group company settings. I believe if I expand the soft wash/pressure wash side I should be able to increase revenue to 40-45000 in the first season. Let me know what you guys think is the best decision based on these factors. Thanks for your time!!!

2. Matthews Lawn Care