1. Can’t make it to the GIE+EXPO 2017?
    LawnSite brings the trade show floor to your fingertips with our new GIE+EXPO 2017 Sneak Peek video series debuting now in the Lawn Mowing forum.

Dismiss Notice

Thank God! Great new Resi contract today!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Green Pastures, May 29, 2003.

1. Green Pastures

Green Pastures LawnSite Silver Member

I was asked to do a bid on a big residential property (3 acres, not all grass) in a very upscale neighborhood. Average price on homes is $700K. I currently do not have any homes in this neighborhood, but I've been passing out fliers there twice a year for 3 years now. I've got some one time clean up jobs, some mulch jobs, and a few "will you cut for me while I'm on vacation?", but no contracted annual maintenance contracts. Those are what I'm after.

I really had a hard time on the bid. I kept wanting to bid low to make sure I got the job, cuz there are 3 LCO's I've SEEN myself in that neighborhood, very competitive! Probably even more that I have not seen.

I decided to take my own advice, ;) and bid it for what it would take for me to really make good money on the job. I figured if I got the job I'd be happy and if I didn't get it I would nor be losing anything.

Well I bid at $472.00 per month for 12 consecutive months. This includes mow, edge, trim and blow every week (max 40 cuts here in Virginia), all fertilizing-6 apps, trim all shrubs as needed, weed control in grass and beds, aerate and over seed in fall, and leaf cleanup in the fall (HUGE job, lot's of trees)

I did not include lime, which it will need yearly if it's anything like all my other accounts. I also left off mulching. I did the mulch for them last spring and it was 50 yards! I got $3080.00 for that, you do the math!!!

This is a great price for me, but they will be getting PREMIUM lawn care.

I'm very happy. This is a big boost for my budget, almost $500 more in income every month, year round.