The Employee/Partner grey area.

Discussion in 'Employment' started by WishforScagWildcat, Aug 7, 2018.

1. WishforScagWildcat

WishforScagWildcat LawnSite Member
    from Georgia

Hello all, it has been quite awhile since I was last on here. I once again seek assistance in a situation I have found myself in. So I (long story short) decided to join forces with a fellow landscaper in order to grow a business together. I relocated to his area and combined equipment and talent to grow one larger business. I should add he just graduated high school and I graduated last year. We were both looking for another person to expand and I was the one in the position to move. Unfortunately it’s starting to get rocky and I’m not sure if he notices it or not. We both have trucks and trailers, about the same amount of hand held equipment... he’s got the mowers and I am about to have a tractor. (I sold my mowers to get the tractor for landscaping which I wanted to do but now I rely on him for mowing.) My frustrations stem from a few things.... he decided to go ahead and create an LLC. And list me as an employee... I only make $10hr. And get $30-$40 a week for fuel. He uses all my equipment, had free storage for all his gear (until he just got a storage unit about a week ago) at my house, as well as free dumping on my property. This was ok with me when I thought we were partners but clearly not now. I’m not sure what I should demand if I want to keep working for him. I should add I do a lot of the landscape design and installs and run a Landscaping crew. He comes up with work and I figure out how to do it as well as help sell all the jobs and figure out the pricing for almost everything. What should I do? I could just leave and do my own thing but I like working with him. What would be fair for both of us? Thanks for the help!

2. jc1

jc1 LawnSite Silver Member

If he formed an LLC and your not a member then you are an employee. It's time to move on.

3. Greencuts518