1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Catch up on the conversation about enhanced efficiency fertilizers with the experts at Koch Turf & Ornamental in the Fertilizer Application forum .

Dismiss Notice

Toro Grandstand Review.....

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LawnScapers of Dayton, Jun 13, 2009.

1. LawnScapers of Dayton

LawnScapers of Dayton LawnSite Silver Member
    Male, from Dayton, OH

I bought a 23hp 52" GS on Thursday. I have to say that the machine is built very well. The ride is very nice and above all the cut quality is fantastic.

I have been mowing with Wright Standers for 6 years... I really love the agility and speed of those machines but I finally had enough with the poor cut quality when mower conditions were not perfect.

I mowed 17 lawns on my first day out on the machine. My overall rating would be an A, with some small areas that have room for improvement.......many of which I think I can make some adjustments and solve.

Things I like:
    1. the cut quality - I mowed in a drizzle in the morning and had no problems with clumping.....With the Stander I probably would have been cussing.... As conditions improved things just got better.... Eventually I adjusted the baffle closed and was very impressed with the dispersion of the clippings..

2. The ride was very comfortable. I got to do some hill mowing and it did just fine once I got the "feel" of it.

Things I could like better...

1. the speed - I am gonna mess around with this a little......I am sure this can be adjusted up....

2. the control panel is at what I think is an awkward angle. the control ar kinda in the way of easily getting to the throttle, etc... this is something I will just have to get used to...

3. Control levers were VERY stiff......hoping to adjust those as well.....

Overall I have very happy...... I think as I get more time on it, and the controls before more "sub-conscience" it will get even better.....

2. delphied

delphied LawnSite Silver Member