Lawn Care Forum banner

Treating St. Augustine Grass in Texas

3K views 9 replies 7 participants last post by  CTPTURF 
#1 ·
Hello All,

I'm a licensed lawn technician in GA and I mainly do weed control and fertilization on Bermuda, Zoysia, and Fescue, (some centipede). I have
an opportunity to grow my business in Texas (Houston) and have learned that 99.9% percent of the lawns are St. Augustine. I'm trying to put together a treatment program but I'm very unfarmilar with St. Aug and also am not sure if the treatment program needs to be structured based on the region. Can anyone tell me what broadleaf post-emergence are used for broadleaf grasses? I'm familiar with Eliminate-D. I do know that 2,4-D will kill the lawn? Other than that I'm clueless. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

AL

#2 ·
subscribing to follow along on this....

#3 ·
if i were gonna try an figure out what would smoke or not smoke someones lawn i wouldn't just look on here. better talk to your dealer and read lots of labels. i could ask someone i don't know if its ok to spray celcius on fescue and if they say yes go spray it and I'm done. specific questions are one thing. but i would visit my dealer and spend a day reading labels. jmo

#5 ·
Al:
Get to know your turf, I have some good links if you're interesed.
You're probably talking to some of the BEST Southern Grass minds there is on here. Greendoctor is a genius, know more about grass than anyone because of so many degrees of soil and weather in Hawaii , Ric (Florida) knows a lot--been at it since the "Ice Age" but you've got to dig through that hard aZZ surface--he's really a softy underneath--Ric, "you know I respect you" and I'll help. PM me for any specifics.