Turf Tiger Leaving paths

2rkae

LawnSite Member
I have reviewed this website for months now seems to be alot of good info and decent people on here.I am fairly new to the lawncare business worked for one year helping a friend run his 85 accounts. I have picked up a few of my own. My friend runs dixie choppers can not say to much bad about them they get ran very hard and just keep going other than belts breaking. I have scag tt love it!! steering little stiff thought of removing stabilizers what do you think? My main problem TT leaves paths .I mow different angle every time I mow ,you can really tell it with a light snow . Paths all over the yards I mow with TT.I love my scag though. Would getting rear tires like on the dixie chopper help?or is there another tire out there? I know TT is heavy. and chopper is probably one of the lightest but there is no comparison in quality.but chopper does not leave paths.What about that green police commercial during superbowl.If U.S.A. keeps voting Democrats in office thats what it will be in the future. Thanks from a fellow conservative!!!!!

sjessen

LawnSite Fanatic
My guess is that what you are describing is due to the weight of the machine especially if the property was mowed when the ground was soft. You might try putting on wider tires but Scag has pretty much covered the bases on that. One other thought might be to check the tire pressure. If it is way too high(unlikely) it might cause to tire tread to be egg shaped.

mowerbrad

LawnSite Fanatic
The "rutting" condition you are describing is caused by two main factors, heavy ground pressure and soft ground. The Scag TT's are pretty heavy mowers from the start, so that doesn't help you. I'm already assuming that the drive tires on the mower are the 24x12-12 type. Those tires are already pretty wide and should help to reduce turf compaction. But if you mow when it is wet/damp out, it can cause almost any machine to create the ruts in the lawn.