Using a existing smaller guage wire in new system?

Discussion in 'Landscape Lighting' started by kolipo1, Aug 7, 2019.

1. kolipo1

kolipo1 LawnSite Member

Total Noob questions. First lighting install. Using Light the Nite 150w transformer.

I'm installing a new system with a long run in back and short run in front. I will use a T connection to separate the front and back.
    My question is, there is a 50' section of 14/2 wire already buried. If I connect the transformer (60' 10/2) to the existing (50' 14/2) and run another (60' 10/2) will that minimize the resistance from using the bigger wire on either side? Or will I have to calculate the whole thing on 14/2 wire?
    Also for the front being tied into the back system, I still calculate the total runs of wire front and back right?

2. starry night

starry night LawnSite Gold Member

I won't give you a direct answer to your question because I never use anyone else's existing wire. But I will ask why you would use someone else's 14 gauge and then think you needed to use 10 gauge for your own?

knox gsl likes this.
  3. knox gsl

knox gsl LawnSite Fanatic

My question is how much load are you putting on it? Personally I'd put in new wire with the confidence that you know it's done right.

starry night likes this.
  4. OP
    OP
    kolipo1

kolipo1 LawnSite Member

My main goal here is to understand how the ohm/ voltage drop works. The way I understand it is, The smaller wire the more ohms/ resistance in that wire and length. If I step up the wire size after the smaller wire that section would be less drop back in that wire size length and resistance and math. In other words it would be worth stepping up the size after the smaller wire so that section can go further than using the original existing wire size.

5. hal

hal LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Georgia