Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I noticed on my Walker MT a gash in what I would call the blower housing. It was about an 1/8" wide and at least 3 or 4 inches long. You could see where the grass was stuck in the crack coming through. I'm assuming something metallic went through the blower and punched this hole in it. According to Walker parts manual this is called the blower scroll. My question is will I have to replace the whole blower assembly or can I just have the scroll replaced? I haven't closely inspected the blower wheel to see if it is damaged but if it is could I have these damaged parts replaced without having to bare the cost of a complete blower assembly. Could someone with knowledge of Walker mowers please help me out. I am not a mechanic and don't want to get taken advantage of when I take it in for repair. Thanks.

·
Registered
46 Posts
hey I had the same thing today this happens a good bit, if you know a good welder and the fan is still in good shape take it off and have them patch it. we usually patch our
blower assembly at least once before replacing. the cost of a new one is about 280 bucks
this is caused by gravel, sand or anything like that.Mine was about 1/4 inch wide
by 4 in long but my guy was able to weld it like new as we are getting ready for leaf season any question give me a shout good luck Greg

·
Registered
144 Posts
Yes, that should just be the scroll. It is listed under an attachment as it is case hardened.

·
Registered
777 Posts