• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Wanting to start this season in Oklahoma

beargins

LawnSite Member
First off, I am in Oklahoma City.

I'm new to this industry and I would like to work part time 3 days per week, maybe an hour here or there the other days. I've already written my business plan. I have read the posts regarding insurance, overhead, marketing etc, and all in all some of the advice is encouraging and some of the advice is frightening. I want to join this industry part time to make some extra money this spring, summer and fall. I currently work 2 jobs, one full time well paying day job, that is 10 hours per day, 4 days per week, which I sit at a desk all day, the other is a part time evening job, which is about 3-5 hours per evening and I drive a bob tail. So all in all my work is not too stressful physically although I am IT in my day job and it can be mentally stressful sometimes.

Note: I have read many of the threads already in regards to beginning, but confirmation (and wise counsel) always helps.

Honestly, currently I don't have any equipment, I've been pricing commercial mowers on Craigslists, and also some state surplus sales, and I have found reasonably priced 21 inch self propellers, as well as some decent walk behind 36+" mowers, I am thinking this setup would be best, and the most cost effective for my first season. I want to target residential accounts, as well as intercity vacant lots (if they arent all taken!)

My vehicle of choice will be a ford ranger, I've read that its possible to use the 4 cylinder 5 speeds for a small 5x10 trailer, and some light equipment.

I have been in contact with SCORE business advisers and I am planning to schedule an appointment to discuss my business plan with them.