what is bidding jobs and how do i find jobs to bid?

Hi this is my first year in this business I'm 17 years old i turn 18 in early march I'm just curios to know. I here a lot about people saying on this site "bidding a job" how do i find the jobs to bid. any serious answer would be very appreciated thank you. Sam

PK Mows

LawnSite Member
I'll tell you a way to get business, cut a few lawns for free. Maybe some family members, maybe a good friend of the family, maybe check with a local Church and see if there is a little old Lady who's living on pennies. When I first started out, I even cut a Church for free. People appreciate that and will be more than happy to help a guy out. It's way cheaper than any other advertising and it gets your product in front of people more effectively that anything else.

What this will do is give you exposure. Do a really good job. Look really good while you're doing it. Remember that people are always watching you and they will decide who you are and what sort of work you do in the first couple of minutes. Screw up that first contact and you're screwed. You don't have to have fancy uniforms, new equipment, $60,000 trucks, but you do have to make what you have look as good as you can make it. Even people who don't have a clue about your equipment will recognize when stuff is just thrown on a trailer and beat to death. That creates a bad image and you're in the image business. And, always do a good job and treat every Customer, every potential Customer and everybody who may talk to a Customer, as though they are the most important person in the room.

Exposure will give you referrals. Referrals are the absolute best source of business you can get. Cutting a few for free will also teach you what your time is worth. Pay attention to what it costs you to do that little old Lady's lawn and how long it takes you, then build your pricing structure.