• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

What to look for in a truck

barlaam1

LawnSite Member
So just like every 5th thread out there I too am starting my own business this year. I have been in and out of lawn mowing for 8 years. I had my own small 8-10 yard business two years ago. I have re-located and am going to start another business. I work full time as a firefighter so I'm only thinking 10-20 yards. Right now I'm looking for a truck. What is the most valueable addition to a truck. There is a truck I'm looking at 3/4 ton with a dump bed, but it is a regular cab. All the trucks I've had in the past have been extended cab. So I tend to lean towards them just for the space. This will be my main source of transportation. I also have an 8 month old daughter that I will need to pick up from Daycare when the mowning day is done. Where we live the city provides locations in town with roll-off dumpsters for yard waste. I have one about two blocks from my house. The crew I worked with last year just used 3 tarps would load the grass onto them and then throw them over the side of the dumpsters. To go to the dump would probably add 20-30 min to my day just to go dump. However I will be a one man opperation. What do you guys think. I'm thinking I should find an extended cab and just muscle the grass around. Thanks in advance

Ben

S&S Outdoor Services

LawnSite Member