Lawn Care Forum banner
1 - 20 of 184 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’ve been a solo operator going into my fourth year this season. This year was all about becoming more efficient on how I do things to be able to grow a little and take on some new customers. My equipment for the entire time I’ve been landscaping is a Cub Cadet ZT 21” Self propelled mower, and Echo trimmers, saws, blowers etc. today, I did a basic Mow, Edge, and blow, but it took me 4 hours to complete solo. Property is just under 6,000sqft. But on a corner lot. There’s a curb strip, gazebo, shed, swing, stone lined garden beds front and rear and fence line all around, so you can only imagine how much trimming there is. I take care of this customer every other week, but this week the grass was super long amd didn’t know until I got on-site. I dont usually bag it after the first mow because it’s not usually this long, so needless to say, the mower did great and cutting through it all but it clumped up the yard and I had to double cut, and then blow out the yard on top of everything else I had to do. So (yes, long story to get to the point haha) What mowers do you solo operators use to make quick work on properties such as this one? I’ve recently been thinking of getting a commercial stand on mower OR getting a rear discharge ride on to suck everything up as I mow and help with the fall cleanups etc. This addition will also help me get larger customers and possibly get into some commercial accounts. I have a FT job and do this on the weekends. Thanks in advanced!

·
Premium Member
43,292 Posts
Solo since 1992 other than a few years my son helped in the 90's.

Exmark 60" Vertex, 60" Turf Tracer, 48" Turf Tracer, Exmark 30", Timemaster

Reports from the field indicate Scag and Deere mowers do the best job of clipping dispersal.

Not sure if there are bagger attachments for rear discharge riders. Have also heard that rear discharge mowers don't cut as well as side discharge.

·