Which mower is easier on your back?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Cassidy Cuts, Mar 31, 2020.

1. Cassidy Cuts

Cassidy Cuts LawnSite Member
    from MD

I am starting to have back problems when sitting on my ztr. I have a toro z master with a suspension seat, but it is from 2012 and I am sure that the newer suspension seats are better. Even going very slow, I can only mow for about an hour or so before I'm in a decent amount of pain. This did not bother me much last year, but after this week (the first week of mowing this year) I have been in some pain. I was pretty set on getting a new TT2 but now I am just focused on what mower will be easiest on my back. Which mower set up would you guys recommend? Will a TT2 with the z glides in the front be good enough? Or should I look at something like a lazer z with the MyRide suspension platform? I have also considered getting a stander but I mow large yards that are on average 2 acres so I don't think I could stand for that long. Any help would be great. I have been mowing full time for 15 years but am barely 30 and I would like to keep doing this for a long time to come.

2. Ridin' Green

Ridin' Green LawnSite Fanatic
    Male, from Michigan

If ride is most important for you now, get a Ferris.

3. DLL LLC

DLL LLC LawnSite Member

Just a thought....have you tried a doughnut pillow to sit on? I did that one time when i threw my back out. Helped a decent amount. Just took a lil bit to get used to. Felt like I was gonna fall off, lol

Cam15 likes this.
  4. knox gsl

knox gsl LawnSite Fanatic

61" V-ride. No more back issues. Realistically at 30 years old and in this business you should be healthy enough to stand 40 minutes to run over 2 acres.

sjessen, zlandman, Cam15 and 2 others like this.
  5. Ridin' Green

Male, from Michigan