Who was self taught?

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by Green-Man, Dec 14, 2016.

1. Green-Man

Green-Man LawnSite Bronze Member

I'm learning little by little on my own towards the field of Turf and ornamental by reading online here. I really love turf health. He is South Florida we mainly deal with St. Augustine and the higher end homes my have empire Zoysia. Where did you guys learn the material on your own? Seems like there are endless fertilizer combinations, with micro nutrient and then unlimited way to use liquid and I just want to learn.

2. upidstay

upidstay LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

I took a license prep course before taking the Connecticut license test. Ours is extremely hard, 75% failure rate. The rest I learned from experience, a couple of books, and going to seminars and actually paying attention.

TrainingWheels and oqueoque like this.
  3. greendoctor

greendoctor LawnSite Fanatic

I was. No one does this in Hawaii on residential turfgrass. I learned a lot talking to sod growers and golf people.

oqueoque and Wes Parker like this.
  4. Green-Man

What books did you get? A prep course seems to be a great idea I will look into it myself. I always pay attention I love knowledge in this area of expertise.

5. Green-Man

I will keep that in mind! My thing that is really getting to me is just all the different Chems and combinations of granular fertilizers and what is in the granular fertilizers you can use, then knowing what the turf and ornamentals need as a base and what they can be spoon fed with etc. A bit overwhelming if you ask me.

6. greendoctor

It is much simpler for me. The in vogue granular formulations do nothing for me on soils that are alkaline and full of salts. I get more out of an appropriate soluble formulation.

7. PicturePerfectLawns

PicturePerfectLawns LawnSite Gold Member