• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Why not do installs?

OKSooner

LawnSite Member
I've been doing irrigation repairs for three years now and I've had more than a couple of guys who seemed to know what they were talking about tell me to keep doing repairs and service, and that only - and not do design/install work.

My question is... Now that I've got some hands-on experience, why not start small (at my house) and begin doing some installs? I've had several people ask if I do installs and I've referred them to a guy who does good work.

Just for the record, I live in a State that doesn't have any licensing requirements... yet.

Comments invited.

Thanks. :usflag:

DanaMac

LawnSite Fanatic
I've done three installs since 2002. I prefer to do just the service and repairs. Overhead is lower. I feel that net profits can be higher due to less employees, and less equipment. With installs I believe there are more companies that will underbid each other to get the job. I see less competition in the service area. I also think injuries are lower on the service side as we're not dealing with trenchers, pullers/plows, tampers, trailers, etc. Service is SO much easier physically than installs.

If you can get a high end rate for the installs, maybe it outweighs everything. but if you're in the mid range price wise, and just another installer, then I don't think it's worth it.

bcg

LawnSite Bronze Member