• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

Wish I had Money

ajo771

LawnSite Member
WOW! Lots of good deals this year. Bed edgers, backpack misters, mini skid steers, core aerators, spreader/sprayers, overseeders, everything I want.

I was lucky to keep my job, but at a 1/2 of what I use to make. The wife had to go back to work for the first time in 18 years since we started having kids.

Maybe I'll go back to landscape maintenance on the weekends to fund my gardening habit.

ponyboy

LawnSite Bronze Member
Great another wanna be not legally lco just what all of us want
Posted via Mobile Device

OP
A

ajo771

LawnSite Member
What a jerk.

I have a degree in landscape architecture and had owned a landscaping business for 10 years before I started building roads and bridges. I still maintain my applicators license for turf and ornamentals + waterways. I got away from it because after doing it for others all day I didn't want to come home and do it for myself. My property is nicer than any of the "professionally" maintained properties in my neighborhood. I've forgotten more about horticulture than most "professionals" will ever know.

Don't misunderstand me, I am taking nothing away from the true professional. It's the people who buy a mower and have no knowledge of horticulture, botany, or entomology; throw a name on the side of a pick-up or in the local paper and buy some t-shirts and their professional. Right!

Horticulture has been a big part of my life since I worked on my grampas farm as a boy.

So Ponyboy, where is your horticulture degree from?

ponyboy

LawnSite Bronze Member
Then I'm sorry I did not know all thar I have my pest licsen and have been in busines since 1986 I thought you were just going to buy a machine and cut lawns for free I'm wrong and sorryp