Would it be a horrible idea to use a residential zero turn for a small one man operation?

scratch123

LawnSite Member
Hi everyone, new here and loving all of the great info! I'm a professional musician in my other life and when the pandemic started I began mowing lawns to make some extra money. I have enjoyed it and am thinking of taking on more clients as the music work still isn't back to what it was. I have a snapper rear engine rider that has gotten me by, but its pretty slow. So, if I do decide to expand (I'm only doing about 7 properties a week at them moment, I'd like to be doing about 15 a week) would it be a horrible idea to get an upper level residential zero turn, or would it be a much better idea to go ahead and invest in a lower level commercial mower? I've seen quite a few small operators around town using what look to be residential models, but I wonder if they last them more than a couple of seasons? I don't really want to spend 10K on a mower as it would take me some time to make that back, however financing it may make that sort of purchase feel doable... Any advice anyone may have would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time!

JLH52

LawnSite Senior Member
It's possible that you might find a used low hr. commercial mower at a reasonable price. It may take some searching, but there are plenty available.

Then again, there's much to know when buying used. Your question is a hard one because there are so many variables.

Freaky Fido

LawnSite Bronze Member
Yeah, you can do that but they're not designed for that and won't hold up in the long run. You might want to consider a used commercial walk-behind instead. Ransomes-BobCat, Scag, Exmark etc. Good starter machines and they're plentiful on Craigslist and Facebook Marketplace. You can add a sulky to ride for the bigger lawns.

Youngandfree

LawnSite Fanatic