Yard Signs or Door Hangers?

Discussion in 'Lawn Care Business Management' started by SB Lawn Care LLC, Jan 12, 2019.

1. SB Lawn Care LLC

SB Lawn Care LLC LawnSite Member

Hi everyone,

I'm going into my third year in business. However, this is my first year licensed and insured. Currently I'm leaning towards putting out yard signs in popular areas in the neighborhoods that I'm in(honestly due to less walking door to door). I have about 30 clients all in 5 neighborhoods within 3 square miles. What is more likely to get me more maintenance accounts? Yard signs or Door hangers?

Thank you.

2. grassmonkey0311

grassmonkey0311 LawnSite Gold Member

It really all depends on your area, marketing material, etc.

I'm sure you'll get a bunch of mixed responses from other members, but the best thing to do is try both methods out and see what works best.

TrainingWheels likes this.
  3. Greencuts518

Greencuts518 LawnSite Fanatic

Gotta do both, name recognition. Both methods are low return

tdoeizreal likes this.
  4. SB Lawn Care LLC

Thank you guys. For door hangers should I be expecting around 2% return rate?

5. Greencuts518

Best case scenario, I've heard of less then 1% and in many cases. It all depends on your offer and your local market. I've never had great luck with either. I use next door and craigslist and things are building slowly but it's free and craigslist $5. I spent $1700 on direct mailers and it was not the best spent money as it was 2007, right before the recession

hort101 likes this.
  6. SB Lawn Care LLC

I have been using facebook and nextdoor too. Sometimes on Nextdoor I feel like I'm posting a little too much and don't want to make a bad name for myself by annoying everyone on there. I have tried craigslist a few times but got no return at all.

7. Greencuts518

I post twice a month for mowing during april -July ...once under personal name and once under business anymore then that and your asking for problems

8. Greencuts518