• Thankful For Your Family…. Business?
    Landscaping businesses are often family endeavors. While this can combine the best of both worlds (personal and professional), it isn’t always smooth sailing. Click here to read more.

YellowBook/Yellow Pages - Do you use them?

lawnlandscape

LawnSite Senior Member
This is soemthing I have been debating myself about for the last 2 years. ALL of the landscapers around my area have HUGE expencive advertisments in the yellow pages. So it must be working for them, or why would they be doing it?

Around here there are 2 different books. Yellow Book, and AT&T Yellow pages.

AT&t charges about 3 times more for the same ads as the Yellow Book. This year I went into the Yellow Book with some 'Average' ads, which is not saying much. It costs me $1,400 a year. I have still refused to be listed in the At&t pages because I am not ready to give up $3,500 a year for advertising in that book. Just to be listed (small company name and phone number) it costs $240 a year and no one will even see it.

I think about all the better ways I could spend that amount of money. How many door hangers would that be, I could even put up a few billboards!

Sometimes I think that these books are dying books. But then I think about who my main customer base is (elderly) and know they use these books.

What do you guys do in these books. In my town of 50,000 people there are about 30 landscapers (to many) and 15-20 of them have huge beautiful EXPENCIVE ads in the yellow pages.

KMD Landscapes

LawnSite Member
Our personal experience has been that the ads barley pay for them self. We have had full page ads all with the same results (they pay for them self and that's it) But year after year the same landscapers have ads in so it has to be working for them (I guess).

IN2MOWN

LawnSite Platinum Member
Waste of money.

BearWise Landscapers

LawnSite Senior Member